redheadedstepschild

redheadedstepschild2redheadedstepschildback

I started with a stack of red patterned fat quarters and  a couple of similar patterned black fat quarters. I just cut a bunch of blocks and made up the piecing on the spot. I like how the design came out. I don’t love that my blocks don’t line up mostly. I need to work on making sure everything is lined up. Most of that will only come with more practice, I imagine.

Lessons Learned:

  • Maybe, when ironing the binding in half, keep one side a hair’s length longer than the other. That way I can be sure the bottom layer gets sewed properly and no gaps have to be gone back on.
  • Before committing to piecing squares, consider off setting them on purpose. Or at least choose patterns that won’t highlight my shortcomings.
